Now before you start to think I’m a quitter for canceling my Weight Watchers subscription today, let me just say that my nearly year long relationship with Weight Watchers was a successful one. Overall,  I lost 28.4 lbs! Yes, It was difficult, turbulent and full of weight loss, then more weight gain, then more weight loss, but I believe I’ve found a good balance now. I have learned to eat, NOT DIET! I have learned that you can have your cake and eat it too…just not everyday of the week. :~)

So why am I quitting? Well, I have found a new partner in this battle against bulge. They are a true pal. No, it’s not some crazy fad diet. No, I’m not shelling out lots money to chomp down on dietary cookies, or gluten free food. Do you want to know my new secret weapon in this battle against Bulge? It’s myfitnesspal.com! This website is the greatest discovery I’ve made in years! Why? It’s FREE! That’s right. F-R-E-E!

This is how it works.

You make an account for FREE! The site sets you up with a Food/Exercise Diary, Blog, and Message boards for support. For those who use Weight Watchers eTools this should sound familiar. You log your meals and activities through an extensive database of pre-logged foods and exercises. You can’t find what you’re looking for? Then simply create your own food. Do you want to know the caloric AND nutritional value of a recipe you’re making? All you do is create your recipe and the website automatically calculates that for you. The only difference I’ve found between the two eTools is that one uses ambiguous points and the other uses real live calories. Beyond that myfitnesspal.com has the ability to track and set daily goals for fat, sugar, carb, protein, vitamin a,b,c,d,f,x,y and z, or whatever else you see on the back of a nutrition label that you want to monitor. “But wait,” you say, “Weight Watchers is so convenient. I can track everywhere and anywhere I want through my free mobile/iPhone app.” Myfitnesspal.com has got you covered. They also have a FREE mobile/iPhone app. (I actually track more of my calories on the mobile app than the site.) The app is very easy to navigate. (I believe easier than the site, but that’s my personal opinion.)

Now, I am not a spokesperson for this site. To be honest, I heard about it in one of my fitness classes. I thought it could not replace Weight Watchers, which at the time I believed to be the greatest weight loss program on the market. Folks, I’m here to tell you that this site is “DY-NO-MITE!” Just try it out. It can’t hurt. It’s free! If you don’t like it  just delete your profile and never look back, but I seriously doubt you will.

Don’t get me wrong. I am happy I started this journey with WW. It was easy, helpful, inspiring, and fun! I learned a lot about fitness, and living healthily. You know, little nuggets of wisdom that have continued to stick with me. Things like: “Don’t beat yourself up if you have a cookie; they are delicious! Eat one, not 10.”  Or, “Working out can be even the smallest task. Housework counts! If you don’t feel like hitting the gym then mop the floor…” Ok so maybe that’s not exactly what they meant. But that’s what I got from it.*shrugs and smiles* I’m seeing results… Nevertheless, it’s time for me to transition to another means of getting F-I-T aka Fine in Time. So myfitnesspal.com will be my new ally.

Wish me luck!

PS. This is my new mini-goal. (Another little tip I picked up from Weight Watchers…)

Created by MyFitnessPal – Free Weight Loss Tools

 

